PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

jayhp

Lurker
Feb 12, 2011
Folks, Ive been smoking a pipe for over 25 years.Briars and cobs. I am going buy a meer.

What I really want to know is can you smoke a meer continously? If not, for how long as such.Thanks

fred

Lifer
Mar 21, 2010
http://pipesmagazine.com/blog/put-that-in-your-pipe/the-meerschaum-pipe-experience/

pipetrucker

Part of the Furniture Now
Sep 13, 2010
Following the white rabbit
Fred posted a great article, but unless I missed it the article really doesn't answer the question.
Like any pipe, you can get moisture accumulation. With a meer much of the moisture is absorbed by the meer itself, but from personal experience you will hit a point where you need to either swab it with a pipe cleaner or let is rest long enough for the moisture to evaporate.
Meers are a good choice for an "all day pipe" in my experience. I just make sure to clean out the inside of the bowl after each smoke so as to not allow any cake to start. Unlike briar, cake can be a pipe killer in a meer as it is harder than the meerschaum and it's heat expansion can crack the pipe (happened to me before I knew better).
I just wipe the cooled bowl with a paper towel, repack, and light.

ichbinmuede

Feb 17, 2011
On days when I just feel like smoking my meer I usually just let it cool down in between smokes. Between that article and pipetrucker you should know about all you need to know. And technically you can smoke any pipe continuously and never stop but it's not exactly great for any pipe. :lol:

fred

Lifer
Mar 21, 2010
Mason is correct, the limiting factor on how long you can smoke a Meerschaum is the

quality of the Block, which is why I gave the link to the article. I'm not alone

in having smoked a Meerschaum for a few weeks, 4-5 bowls daily. One thing to

remember is that a Meerschaum can develop a black, tar-like plaque, which will impart