PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

fnord

Lifer
Dec 28, 2011
Topeka, KS
This isn't a pipe tobacco review for a couple of reasons. Even though I've been smoking a pipe on and off for almost 40 years I don't feel comfortable with the terminology more learned types use. I can talk wine and I can talk bourbon but pipe tobacco still eludes me. I'm a fast puffer and am always happiest surrounded by billowing clouds of smoke. Some days I do better than others cooling my jets but I really should just throw in the towel and give up on trying to become a sipper.
So, this is really more of a tobacco reaction. I picked up some tobacco recently from Hiplainsdrifter and he chucked in an oz. of Mac Baren Symphony. (The only thing I know about that manufacturer is that everybody here bitches about tongue bite.) The cut is very rough and maybe I should've prepared it with a little rubbing. It felt dry so I loose packed a thick walled Charatan second and gave it a charring light.
Judas Priest! That stuff tastes like hell on toast. It was a combination of nasty-assed medicine and scorched pizza with a metallic coating on my tongue and a weird tingling in the roof of my mouth-bone. One of my kids walked into the living room and said, "Did you burn a Pop-Tart, Dad?"
Twenty minutes later I fired up the pipe again and it still tasted like shit so I set it aside while we watched the last 30 minutes of a Season Three "Deadwood" episode. My other kiddo walked into the room, took a whiff and remarked, "That's nasty." (My twins are 19 and both love cigars. They've never once bitched about my pipe tobacco until tonight.)
Finally, on the third light I started smoking this really wonderful tobacco. It didn't taste like hell. It didn't taste like shit. It tasted like... Prince Albert. Excuse me, and I'll be go to hell, I like Prince Albert.