PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

hebel

Lurker
Feb 26, 2011
I was contemplating buying a Kaywoodie Drinkless Pipe as my first briar pipe. I'm fairly new to pipe smoking and all I have smoked are corn cobs. Any advice?

cortezattic

Lifer
Nov 19, 2009
Chicago, IL
A Kaywoodie drinkless was one of my first pipes back in the 1960's, so it worked for me. But in hindsight, when compared to a standard, plain pipe they have a bigger PITA factor. Moisture condenses on the metal stinger and they begin to gurgle; and you can't run a pipe cleaner past the stinger section without unscrewing the stem; and dealing with the filthy plumbing is a pain too -- paper towels are a must. I never found a problem with the quality of the smoke, however.

DSCN0340.jpg

They would not be my first choice if I were making a recommendation. Check out PipesAndCigars.com or other's pipe specials before you buy whatever it is you eventually buy.

westcoastrich

Might Stick Around
Feb 17, 2011
The stem with the metal bulb make it more diffucult keep clean than a straight thru stem, I would recomend a pipe without the bulb until you get adapt at cleaning the stem.

hebel

Lurker
Feb 26, 2011
Thanks guys I will keep that in mind, so should I go with a regular Briar without a filter system?

wizbang

Might Stick Around
Mar 4, 2011
My first pipe was a kaywoodie drinkless that i bought at an antique shop. The pipe was in great condition but it had the bulb which needed much cleaning. If you were going to get a drinkless pipe, I would suggest researching how to clean it or talk to an experienced smoker/tobacconist on how to keep up with the cleaning. As long as you know how to properly clean it and keep up with it, I would say go for it, but consider other pipes too. Good smoking hebel!
Craig P.

jcsnaps

Lifer
Oct 18, 2010
pipe-002-600x450.jpg