PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

epazikas

Might Stick Around
Mar 20, 2024
Mölndal, Sweden
Dear colleagues, I have a question regarding the smoking duration (from start to end) that you normally face during the time you are smoking a pipe. I know that a general answer will be like, it depends on the size of your pipe. In my case I normally smoke my El Dagner (picture) or a Peterson and Nørding with similar sizes, and I normally use aromatic blends.
The smoking length with a full bowl takes about 10 to 15 minutes only. I don’t puff quickly, but rather take my time and the heat of the bowl is moderate.
My question, is this smoking length normal? I see in many videos people saying it takes 40 minutes or more.
I am new in pipe smoking thus my question, thank you.

Attachments

• IMG_1208.jpeg
    IMG_1208.jpeg
    68.2 KB · Views: 16
Last edited by a moderator:

Sigmund

Lifer
Sep 17, 2023
France
That is really fast though ribbon cut does burn faster. If you want to smoke cooler and longer the key is not just speed. Everyone says slow down but that is confusing to new pipers. If you slow down too much you constantly relight. Sometimes to the point of frustration. Take your time AND take small wisps of smoke rather big mouthfuls like its a cigar. You will get more flavor and also retrohale.

I dont know the size of that bowl but anything but mini pipes should last longer.

The above posts were made at the same time. Sipping is a nice term. Practice different techniques until you find what works. Consider each bowl an experiment until you find what suits you.

captpat

Lifer
Dec 16, 2014
North Carolina