PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

benjaminhale

Lurker
Feb 10, 2012
Hello everyone,
I joined this forum because I have a very specific question about the history of pipe smoking that I figured somebody on here might be able to answer. I'm a writer, and I'm working on a novel set in the 18th century - in the course of my work, I stumbled across a question that's proved difficult to google. Here it is. Pipes began to become popular in Europe in the 16th century, and they were around in the New World, the Middle East, and many other places before that. However, I'm finding that friction matches and lighters didn't come around until the mid-19th century. So before the mid-1800s, what would an everyday pipe smoker have used to light a pipe?
Any specialized historical knowledge about this would help a lot. Thanks!
Ben

nsfisher

Lifer
Nov 26, 2011
Nova Scotia, Canada
Howdy mate and welcome;
I read alot, perhaps 2-3 novels per week. Many of my favorite topics are Western History, Pioneer Days, Westward Immigration etc. In those days, much pipe smoking was done at the camp fire only, usually after breakfast and supper for the most part. A burning "brand" or coal was used. But, if the need to smoke did arise and one was in town for instance, many a man lit up at the blacksmith shop. While on the "trail", flint and steel was used for a firestarter but also live coals were carried in somethin akin to a hollowed out deer or sheep horn. These horn were usually lined with a layer of damp moss and several good sized hot coals were put in it before "scattering" the camp fire.

ace57

Lifer
Jun 21, 2011
Seems to Me that at one time I read that rope or hemp was lit from a fire pit or stove to light pipes.

Jun 26, 2011
Pacific Northwest USA
Long thin bits of wood, there is a name for them but CRS, splith or some such, were kept handy.

Set afire in the fire place or candle, lamp etc. and then the pipe was lit.