PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

MikeCifone

Lurker
Jul 14, 2022
Los Angeles
Hey fellow pipe smokers. I'm a philosophy professor who just recently picked the pipe back up after dabbling a bit many many years ago when I was a summer worker on the PA Turnpike (wow it's been like 25 years). Then it was all Dr Grabow and Captain Black, now I actually like me some mild to bold English, and am fast becoming a (pure) Virginia fan (though the HH MacBaren Pure Virginny makes my lungs hurt, but is so damn good) -- in a fat Peterson. I've spent way too much dough amassing a small tobacco collection and an army of pipes, as I'm trying to find what I like (I find myself about a thousand poorer after a few months ... well, maybe not that much). I am in search of the elusive blends (is Esoterica that good?), the perfect bowls.

In any case, I've been appreciating MuttonChop Piper's heartfelt YouTube posts, along with that southern touch of gentility over at the Pipe Cottage (I'm really impressed with the sense of old Americana over there). So much content for the pipe lover...

Being in SoCal, I have about 1.5 seasons, so I'm gonna miss out on the cold change over I grew up with out East (so that my C&D Autumn Evening will have to be an autumn-ish smoke). I might just have to fly out East during February (my birthday month anyways) to experience a nice smoky pipe and strong drink by the fire.