PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

nathaniel

Part of the Furniture Now
Jan 4, 2011
Hi all,
So does anybody here "frenchy" their smoke through the nose? Any thoughts on it? I've noticed that I don't really taste the tobacco at all in my mouth, but if I inhale through the nose after blowing it out then I can really appreciate the blend. I've been smoking for about 4 yrs, and almost always pipe tobacco. I always smoke a pipe now, but used to buy the cheap drugstore cavendish and roll em, in which case I'd just smoke it like a cig. Anyway, any thoughts on it? Or perhaps how to really taste a blend through the mouth, cause it always seems too bland? And yes, I do smoke more than aromatics.

surfmac211

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 28, 2009
Jacksonville, Florida
I don't really French inhale, but I do blow the smoke out my nose. This brings out the flavor more by using smell and taste to enhance the overall experience of the smoke imo.

romeowood

Lifer
Jan 1, 2011
The Interwebs
First the proviso that I'm a complete novice myself, and I too am eager to hear technique from more experienced smokers. Also forgive my overlong reply, as it's late and I've just enjoyed the most amazing corncob packed with black spice.

That being said, have you ever been to a wine tasting? If not, go to one--chances are you're not far from a wine shop that will have one at some point. They'll teach you the basic wine tasting format--approach, eye, nose, mouth, rinse, repeat.

I basically apply a similar technique of:
1. Cleansing the palate

2. Approaching the tobacco first with eye (how does it look in the tin / jar / bag? the cut? can you discern the different leafs?)

Then nose (that first whiff when you crack open the tin / jar / bag)

Then feel (how moist is it, how does it rub between your fingers, how does it change as it dries in the open air for a moment or ten?)