PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

winston

Lurker
Aug 16, 2010
I recently purchased some tins I am still new to this.
McClelland 221B series Black Shag had a bowl of it last night very nice,

McClelland Holiday Spirit 2010, and Orlik Golden Sliced. I haven't tried the last 2 yet hopefully they are good. I believe that I enjoy the English blends I have gotten some from my local B&M.

bowhatchie

Part of the Furniture Now
Sep 27, 2010
Orlik Golden slices remains one of my favorite and regularly smoked tobaccos. I have not smoked the Holiday Spirit 2010 although I did get some of Peterson's Holiday Season 2010 and like it very much.
Looks like you are choosing wisely!!

casper223

Lurker
Nov 20, 2010
I asked my Tobacconist about the pipe tins, when I first bought tobbacco for my pipe, His words were something like this "Try our Bulk Tobbacco, aquire a taste for it, It's nice and smooth, very little bite, The Tins house an English blend of tobbacco, Not very Aromatic, and really rough on the palet of a new pipe smoker, I doubt unless your just hard core, that you would like any of it". Since this conversation i've never bought tinned tobacco. Is this a True or False statement? In life always when getting advise, I try to figure out first if there's an angle to the advise, Could it be a Tobacconist makes more profit from blending in his retail store, or was he giving valuable advise? Can you seasoned pipe smokers please lend a little insight to what he may have been talking about? Again I've never tried any in following his advise.

onizuka

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 28, 2010
I have no idea, but sometimes I like to go against the caution, I may have said to him, "CHALLENGE ACCEPTED" and pumped my fist into the air with excitement as I purchased a tin.

cortezattic

Lifer
Nov 19, 2009
Chicago, IL
I'm guessing that it has less to do with profit margins and more to do with his personal preferences.