Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 20, 2019
I have a Dunhill pipe with the following markings:

24 (serif style)
DUNHILL's "Shell Briar"
Pat. Nos. 119708/17. 5861/12

No COM stamp.

It also has a twin bore stem.

Everything I can find leads me to believe that the pipe is 1921-1931, but because it has no date code stamp, I cannot narrow it down any further.

My questions are:

WIth these patent numbers and no date code stamp, can I narrow down the year any further?
Did Dunhill ever make a twin-bore stem or is this for sure a replacement?
This pipe is HUGE compared to my other 1920's era pipes. It seems to be a group 5 or 6 size.

I purchased the pipe from Germany.
Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.Dunhill 24 Left Side.jpgDunhill 24 Left Side.jpgDunhill 24 Top.jpgDunhill 24 Bottom.jpgDunhill 24 Bottom Flash.jpgDunhill 24 Twin Bore Stem.jpg

alaskanpiper

Enabler in Chief
May 23, 2019
Alaska
Pipehil dating key says pre-1921, but I’m no expert. Dunhill did offer “two way stems” by special order, but I don’t know when they started that.

I’m sure others more familiar with the brand will weigh in.

Reactions: oldguyoldpipes

oldguyoldpipes

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 20, 2019
I think it can be narrowed down to 1926-1931.

Would you think someone in this pipe's history sanded the top just for looks or as a repair/cut down of the bowl height? Also, I am always confused by the shape numbers vs. shape leters issue.
I have a 1931 Dunhil that is stamped FE 24 ? Is the 24 an actual shape code or does it designate stem shape and bowl sizing like the newer stamps? Why would they stamp it FE (Prince shape code) and 24?
I am in search of a 1921, 1922, 1926 and a 1927 to complete my 1920s decade.
Thanks for the information. I seem to have caught the Dunhill bug (although I know some people would disagree). I almost always look for Shell Briars as I like that character of the briar more that Bruyere or Roots.

lightmybriar

Lifer
Mar 11, 2014