PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

fluffie666

Can't Leave
Apr 4, 2014
Hello there. So I've treated myself to a few estate pipes over the holidays. I grabbed up a Parker, a nice Stanwell with a silver band and a Bijou. They're all old and fairly nice by my standards. The Bijou is really neat. It's thick walled, chunky and has this gnarly rustication on it that I love. My issue is that they need work. I've never worked on a pipe before so I've been combing through the threads to get an idea of where I should start. Maybe you guys can offer me up some good direction. A big concern is stem oxidation. There are plenty of threads on that already so I have that under control. Here is where I need help... I may have done something crazy. In order to get rid of some aromatic ghosting I filled up the bowl of my Stanwell with charcoal and put it in the oven for a few hours. The ghost has moved. As far as I can tell it worked but the bowl shrunk so my nice silver band fell off. It's loose and the stem won't fit back in the shank. Now the stem is badly oxidised and needs work. I am going to use oxyclean and micro mesh on it to get rid of the crud. I have to get the stem to fit back in the shank after I get it pretty again. Then I want to get the silver band to fit snug again. Any one have any ideas? I was going to sand down tennon a bit so it fits and then micro mesh it to a shine. Is that a good idea? For the band I was just going to use some glue. I'd much rather not use glue though. That's just the first two issues. Next is I want to drill the draught hole wider and bore out the stem a little more. 5/8 or more is what I'm going for. I want a wide open draw on this thing. I'm fairly confident in my ability to get all this done. I just need some input from anyone who has experience in doing all properly. I'd upset if I screwed this up but not totally devistated. This pipe cost me about 40 bucks.

fluffie666

Can't Leave
Apr 4, 2014