Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Nov 20, 2022
Wisconsin
Can’t comment much as I am a complete newbie compared with you iron butts here. Longest single stretch I did on my rebel 500 was about 120km, 2/3 of a full tank. Not at all confident so sat in the slow lane. Indeed, not much power to give past 100km/h. As for its weight, never felt it was unstable.
The wind and rattle sure became tiring after a while, so would agree it’s probably better suited as a city/backroad cruiser. But it’s a capable bike I feel.
Ride as you like, and as you feel safe. Problems happen when you stretch for something outside your comfort. I may put on 15-20,000 miles a year, but I lost my bike and nearly my life for it. As they say, its not if you crash, it's if you get back on. I will be shopping for a new bike, and living in Wisconsin allows me about 5 months to get it done without missing much.

You don't get to be a greybeard too easily. If you don't love riding, pick another hobby. Something safe like smoking...

As you probably guessed, I am not very popular and hear quite a few lectures at work.

-Doc

Nov 20, 2022
Wisconsin
Go ahead and laugh. I'm used to it. But I love my Vespa 250GTS anyway. Pretty sad I'll probably only get another month or two of riding around Chicago before the weather turns nasty. Pic is from 2020 in case you're wondering why there's a mask on the seat.

View attachment 253110
Nobody is laughing. Again, ride what you like. We all ride for the same reason: to save on psychiatry bills.

Nov 20, 2022
Wisconsin

karam

Lifer
Feb 2, 2019
Basel, Switzerland
Ride as you like, and as you feel safe. Problems happen when you stretch for something outside your comfort. I may put on 15-20,000 miles a year, but I lost my bike and nearly my life for it. As they say, its not if you crash, it's if you get back on. I will be shopping for a new bike, and living in Wisconsin allows me about 5 months to get it done without missing much.