PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

deadidunn

Starting to Get Obsessed
May 30, 2020
Hineston, LA
This is my first attempt at a review; so hopefully it won't be too terrible.

The Country Squire Tobbacconist "Middle Earth" blends intrigued me because i was reading The Hobbit and LOTR. Below are the 3 blends I've tried so far.

Bag End
On the company site, it says this is a Traditional Scottish blend. The most notable trait of this blend is that it is well balanced for me. The Latakia is present through out the bowl. It isn't the loudest component, but the easiest to distinguish. The burley and Virginia have a lovely nutty, somewhat cocoa notes that come in out and a light sweetness that goes on through out the bowl. The Latakia is always there providing a tangy smokiness, but never overbearing; I enjoy it very much at what seems to be an equal amount with everything else. The Turkish comes across in a tangy sweetness. Overall it was a well balanced and highly enjoyable smoke, however i only had an ounce to sample. I now have 8 ounces on the way. Dryness from the bag was good, cool burn and few relights.

Kingsfoil