Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Jan 4, 2023
Anchorage, Alaska
Hey folks! My name is Gary and I'm from Anchorage, Alaska. I've been lurking on this site for a few weeks and finally got around to joining. I'm new to smoking pipe, just a few months into it- and really enjoy it. I was introduced to pipes a few years ago, but didn't enjoy it due to smoking too fast, improper packing, not knowing how to tamp, etc...

This time around, I felt the desire to try again after remembering my grandfather enjoying his pipe daily. So this time I took the time to learn the right way (says YouTube) to smoke a pipe. Now, my pipe offers me relaxation and a chance to release stress and think... Plus, if I'm being honest- I truly feel cool and sophisticated smoking my pipe; like a new man I suppose?

I really enjoy some bulk blends our local pipe store offers: Nutty Irishman, Summers Day, and White Burley.
Some bulk blends from my local shop that I didn't like: Peaches and Cream, Classic Vanilla, Espresso.
Earlier this week, I picked up a tin of Petersons Nightcap and I was really impressed.

I smoke out of a Peterson Irish Harp (69) as well as a Meerschaum Pipe that my wonderful lady gifted to me for Christmas.

Looking forward to trying more non aromatics since after the Burley and Nightcap I don't really want to go back to aromatics..

Cheers!

Jan 4, 2023
Anchorage, Alaska
Welcome Alaska, I stayed in Sitka for around 4-5 months, absolutely loved, it and I still have my Alaskan drivers license, actually just renewed it last year and still drive on it, living out here. LOL 😆

Cough cough @alaskanpiper one of your local boys popped in. LOL 😆

Aloha 🤙
PipeIT- thanks for sharing! I sense a Kama’aina from your Aloha and Shaka?
I’m originally from Hawaii, been here in Alaska since 2004.

• Love
Reactions: PipeIT

alaskanpiper

Enabler in Chief
May 23, 2019
Alaska
Haha thanks
@PipeIT

Hello Gary and welcome from Palmer, AK!