PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

GDWTVB

Lurker
Apr 3, 2021
Dunkirk, NY
I promise to post pictures later tonight. I went to an estate sale with a large box of pipes marked "$6 each" about 20 pipes. I was tempted to just take the box to the cashier to make an offer for all, as I immediately noticed a Falcon, and I've always wanted to try one. Instead I pulled out my flashlight and went through them. I am not a connoisseur of pipes, so very possibly there are other great pipes I left. But I scored great with the five I bought. First is the Falcon, got that. Next was a Dr. Grabow grand duke. (I'm not an expert but it looks like an author shape to me. I like that shape and wanted one for my collection) It was awhile before I found my third pick. After removing Dr Grabow after Dr Grabow that seemed nothing special; I pulled a Digby 357 London made pipe. Smooth long and slender. Absolutely gorgeous. I never even heard about Digby pipes, but for six bucks this one was going to be mine. I caught the glimpse of silver, not shiny silver but what appeared to be tarnished silver. Close inspection showed it was a sterling band on a BBB London made pipe. Never heard of that one either, but into the buy pile it went. Then I saw it. The dot. I must be dreaming. Surely there isn't a Dunhill in this box of $6 pipes. But there was. Dunhill shell briar #38. There were others I didn't recognize that might be nice but with the Dunhill in my hand I couldn't get cashed out and gone before losing it with excitement.

I've still got work to do, but later tonight I will clean photograph and probably smoke a bowl out of the Dunhill. Lane limited BCA????

Grizz