Why is Peterson Non-System More Popular than System?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Qwerty53

Lurker
Jul 17, 2021
Title edited: Important words should be capitalized as well as proper nouns.

Good time of the day,
I am a newbie!
Snatched Deluxe System PSB P-Lip (no comment about how I dared to do it when I am only a newbie please). Now I was gifted a peterson non system too. Haven't smoked neither. I need to sell one of them so thus the question
My question is, why would anyone that gets Peterson would use non system one? I mean if we exclude the cleaning laziness? I am talking about pure smoking.
Moreover, looking at peterson line there are maaany more non system than system.....so that means people actually prefer none system.... please enlighten me.
Thanks

Last edited by a moderator:

STP

Lifer
Sep 8, 2020
Northeast USA
I have both and tend to reach for my non-system pipes. Reasons: 1) yes, sometimes lazy… and, 2) I’ve found that the smoking differences to be negligible. Yes, a system pipe can yield a drier smoke, but I’ve never had problem with a lot of moisture. So, for me, it’s not a big deal.

Last edited:

burleybreath

Part of the Furniture Now
Aug 29, 2019
Finger Lakes area, New York, USA
I have both. Sometimes I just don't want to deal with the system clean-up. (Carefully separate bit from shank without tipping the condensation out, roll up a tissue swab and insert it into mortise, bang out the dottle, do the thing with pipe cleaners on the bit, extract the nasty tissue swab and flush it down the toilet, clean the stummel, lay it down with the bit and let it air-dry.)