PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

jdhayes

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jan 15, 2016
Why? I have never smelt any pipe tobacco that smells like a cigar. I have cut up a cigar and smoked it in a pipe... still smells like a cigar :) I like the smell of pipes and I like cigars. Just curious why they smell so completely different.

Cigar leaf is fermented or color cured in a different way than most other forms of tobacco are. You can run a Tennesse or Kentucky burley through the same process as a "traditional" cigar leaf, and you will get some of the same flavor notes... although, of course, it won't be exactly the same.
But, Semois is a leaf that is used in all uses of tobaccos from cigars to pipes, and it has some of those cigar notes in there, with it just getting the air curing process, no fancy fermentation processes.

economistandfisherman

Starting to Get Obsessed
Dec 11, 2018
I've been smoking cigars for nearly 30 years now, pipes too, and asked myself this question years ago, and it all has to do with the way the cigar leaves are grown and aged...it's a far more complex process than for pipe tobacco. Cigars have three parts, the filler, the binder, and the wrapper. For an example of how different the process is, let's take the wrapper. A quality wrapper is a very thin leaf that is many times actually grown under a cheese cloth type material out in the fields--they'll literally have acres upon acres of the cloth stretched across the crops; allows some sunlight in but not as much as a full sun tobacco crop like your typical pipe tobacco is grown. Some will say that this actually produces most of the cigar flavor, although I don't necessarily agree with that. Also, think about the way a cigar is constructed. Quality cigars are constructed using the complete leaf...even the filler is nothing but folded up whole leaves...and the moisture content is around 70% as well...all this together simply produces a much different taste from a pip