PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

carcosa

Starting to Get Obsessed
Oct 21, 2013
So as I mentioned in a previous post, I am fairly new to cigars, though I have been smoking a pipe for 6 or 7 years. Around the age of 23 I got what turned out to be a 1 to 2 pack a day cigarette habit which I gladly kicked in 2006 at the age of 33. I picked up the pipe in 2013, and what a completely different experience to smoke for pleasure and not for the nic fix. Recently in the past month or 2 I tried some cigars which I have been enjoying more than my pipe.

So I started out at my local tobaccanist with an unbanded very dark San Lotano oval. They were 10 bucks bucks a piece or 7 for $50. I really enjoyed the smoke so for 2 weeks I picked up a pack of 7. I tried a couple other brands like Camacho Triple Maduro ( a whopping $17+ at the cigar bar) and a Perdomo amongst others. I bought a 100 count humidor, but was thinking I cant afford to be smoking cigars at this price once or twice a day, so I looked for something cheaper.

I found a 5 pack of Sancho Panza Extra Fuerte for about $4 a piece, and really enjoyed them although not quite as good as the San Lotano, I enjoyed the spice. So then I ordered a few times from my goto Pipes and Cigars with a 20% coupon and ended up with about 115 cigars including a 27 box of Romeo y Julieta reserve (very mild and creamy and NO spice), and 2 boxes of Sancho Panza as well as 5 of those Camacho, 5 Trinidad Sanntiago, 3 Java, 1 Cohiba black and a box of Villizon Maduro.

After smoking maybe 4 or 5 more Sancho Panza, I have been getting too much of that spice and now taste it in the Villizon, and the San Lotano. I’m thinking of going out on a limb and getting a box of the Trinidad Santiago... that was such a great smoke... I think after taking a short break from the spicier cigars I will start enjoying them again, and I will let my Sancho Panza sit in the humidor a while.