SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Sep 9, 2023
Ok I know sounds weird but I know I'm not the only one. I'm a "builder". I build stuff. Yeah I know that is weird too. I mean I build houses, cars, motorcycles, carve stuff, sew clothes, pretty much anything working with my hands. Needless to say I have huge hands from this. My pointer finger is nearly an inch wide. I have to pack the pipe I have now (going to carve some of my own for more pipes) with my pinky and it has a fairly large bowl. So what do people do besides make their own to get pipes they can pack when they have massive hands? I've tried tools to pack and that doesn't work for me. Again I know this is a weird question, but I will want to buy pre-made pipes also, and I am trying to figure out how to find pipes with larger bowls. I am kind of new to this with quality pipes, not simple dr Grabow kind of stuff.

VDL_Piper

Part of the Furniture Now
Jun 4, 2021
Tasmania, Australia
I know your problem first hand 🤣 Being a farmer makes for some pretty large mits and little pipes can be tricky to load. I generally smoke pipes with a chamber width greater than 20mm simply because I get better flavour out of wider bowls. That said I do have narrower bowls and I tend to choose what I smoke in them more carefully. Narrow pipes I tend to stuff with flakes or gravity fill with cube cut which is just flake diced up.

bullet08

Lifer
Nov 26, 2018
RTP, NC. USA
Fingers don't work, and tools don't work.. Hmm. I don't know. Those are two that I would use. Can't really think of anything better to use. When you say tool, do you mean a pipe tamper? Or some screwdriver and such?

Reactions: JOHN72
Sep 9, 2023