PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Worknman

Part of the Furniture Now
Sep 23, 2019
I was looking at buying a car for my teenage daughter, but given how high new and used prices are right now I might wait until next year. My budget is $11k and I dont like what Im seeing right now. I thought about giving her our 2017 Camry that I owe 11k on and getting a new one but new prices are ridiculous too.

Do you think prices will come down by next spring/summer in time for graduation?

Reactions: JOHN72

Tar Wheel

Lifer
May 23, 2020
Winston-Salem, North Carolina
I was looking at buying a car for my teenage daughter, but given how high new and used prices are right now I might wait until next year. My budget is $11k and I dont like what Im seeing right now. I thought about giving her our 2017 Camry that I owe 11k on and getting a new one but new prices are ridiculous too.

Do you think prices will come down by next spring/summer in time for graduation?
I work in the auto industry. In 25 years, I’ve never seen inventory this depleted. It’s basically been a snowball that turned into an avalanche. Starting with COVID shutting factories down, and now a lack of computer chips (because now, cars are basically computers on wheels) , it’s brought the auto industry to its knees. No new cars means no trade in, and pre-owned is where sales makes it‘s money. In the past, you would never see cars older than 5-6 years old or mileage over 80,000 on the lots. Those cars were sold to wholesalers for mom and pop lots. Now the same cars make up half the inventory on dealership lots.

Prices will not be going down anytime soon. I’m hearing 2023 before there is any semblance of normality returning. If you see something you like, anywhere close to your price range, I suggest you act quickly because inventory will continue to be scarce for the foreseeable future and demand is outpacing supply.

Worknman

Sep 23, 2019