PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Hovannes

Can't Leave
Dec 28, 2021
Fresno, CA
Title edited. Rule 9, please.

Mine was a cob, a gift from my mom when I was just a wee tyke. When The Adventures of Tom Sawyer was re-released in the '50's it apparently had a big influence on me.
In my Senior year of High School I bought my own pipe, a Mastercaft Zulu from a Thrifty drugstore. Niether survived the shifting sands of time.
By then our predominant tobacconist in town, Parker's, had gone out of business and the vacume eventually filled by a few B&M shops and, of course The Tinder Box at our spankin' new mall.

Last edited by a moderator:

AlanH

Part of the Furniture Now
Nov 29, 2021
North Alabama
I guess my first pipe was one that I made when I was about 15 or 16 on my grandad's Shop Smith wood lathe. I used a piece of bamboo for the stem (all the rage now ??) and a mouthpiece from one of those teeny corn cobs that they sold at Cracker Barrel. When I was an undergraduate I bought a Dr Garbow bent pipe (still the only bent pipe I have ever owned) and I tried smoking drugstore blends. That didn't last too long My dad adopted that pipe but never really smoked it I don't know what happened to it I kind of wish I had it.
When I was in graduate school I bought some basket straight pipe but I broke it pretty quick. I did not touch another one until about 5 years ago when I bought a MM Country Gentalman gentleman. I smoked that pipe a few times a year until one day I burn it out. That was last winter That's when I bought my first decent briar pipe a Brairworks.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013