What is Happening to the Rim of My New Pipe?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

Law

Starting to Get Obsessed
Oct 1, 2020
Saudi Arabia
Hello fellows,

I bought a new Savinelli Night 316 KS, and noticed on my second day of smoking that there is a sort of charred rim??? Really I have no idea since I am no expert in briar or pipes.

When I try to wipe it with either Saliva or water, it fades for a few seconds until it comes back. I mean yesterday I was smoking this pipe, it had no problems. Today, after smoking Plum Cake by mac baren, it had this. I have absolutely no idea why this happend. Can someone explain? Is it a defect? CBBDF682-376C-4062-84E6-688EC0C2666B.jpeg

ofafeather

Lifer
Apr 26, 2020
Where NY, CT & MA meet
What method do you use to light? How are the rims on your other pipes? My guess is it started as clouding of the wax which is probably carnuba wax. If there is still wax there you can buff it to a shine with a soft cloth and a lot of friction. Otherwise Paragon or Renaissance wax would work.

Reactions: jpmcwjr and Merton

Law

Starting to Get Obsessed
Oct 1, 2020
Saudi Arabia
What method do you use to light? How are the rims on your other pipes? My guess is it started as clouding of the wax which is probably carnuba wax. If there is still wax there you can buff it to a shine with a soft cloth and a lot of friction. Otherwise Paragon or Renaissance wax would work.
I use a corona old boy. I am careful enough not to damage the pipe.

Merton

Part of the Furniture Now
Jul 8, 2020
Boston, Massachusetts
What kind of lighter are you using? If it is a torch or cigar lighter it is likely much too hot and the result is often rim scorching. Try matches or a soft flame pipe lighter for better results. Finally, enjoy the pipe. This kind of thing happens to most of us and is part of the learning curve.

Reactions: ofafeather

craig61a

Lifer
Apr 29, 2017
Minnesota USA