PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

elbert

Part of the Furniture Now
Mar 10, 2015
Hey folks.
Not sure where to begin, exactly--so I'll begin at the beginning. Skip to Bold for the short version.
8 years ago I graduated from high school. I did well on tests (got a 31 on the ACT, as an examlple), but as a scholar I was never better than middling. It was always a question of apathy rather than aptitude--I didn't care and I didn't try, and I did well enough to graduate and I thought that was fine. Mistake number 1!
Then came college. In my house, college was never discussed as optional--you went, and that was that. And even though I could have told my dear parents to stuff it (they weren't going to be paying for it, after all!), I'm not sure I would have wanted to even if I'd had the courage. I didn't know what I wanted to do with my life, and here was four more years to dither in figuring it out! So I picked the nearest University (where my best friend was also going), and I went without really exploring other options. Mistake number 2!
While I enjoyed college more than high school (and not for any reasons to do with vice), I didn't try much harder now than I had before. I did better, to be sure--that was the advantage of selecting my own courses, and the natural result of a system that awarded knowledge more than effort. And what was that coursework? I thought of it as The Humanities--I studied history, literature, philosophy, religion, art, language. On paper I'm credited with this; A Bachelor of the Arts with a double-major in History and English. Mistake number 3!