Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

TheWhale13

Part of the Furniture Now
Aug 12, 2021
Sweden
Title edited for caps. Rule 9! Thank you.

I am facing a bit of a dilemma right now. I don't know if I should prepare myself for the tobaccopocalypse and rising prices by buying what I like now, or if I should try new things? I am a beginner still, so I have not experienced a lot of tobaccos, and that is why I'm so hesitant about cellaring right now. Maybe I should compromise and do a bit of both?

Does anyone have some wisdom to share?

Last edited by a moderator:

Andriko

Can't Leave
Nov 8, 2021
London
If you've found sutff you really like, go deep on it and get the occasional of something else. I've only been smoking about a year, and already a few of the blends I liked are gone.

Reactions: J-Evverrett

Peter Turbo

Lifer
Oct 18, 2021
CT, USA
I'm two years deep and still in the try phase, basically anything I taste now that impressed with from the first bowl goes on a list. There's only been a few blends, less than 5 maybe, where I've tried and been like "damn I'm ordering more of this right now". I probably have over 120 different blends at the moment and most of those are just one timers, things I have 2oz or less of because I bought them to try.

This brings me back to my rant about not being able to purchase tobacco in grams to try in the USA, like they have in the UK (not sure if EU gets this as well) where they can get 10g samples. Honestly I weighed it out and I'd be fine anywhere between 5-7g for samples. I don't need an ounce (in some case minimum two ounces! kbv and wcc I'm looking at you!!) of something to tell if I'm gonna like it or not.