PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

prefontaine

Lurker
Apr 20, 2010
I'm still very new to smoking pipes, or smoking in general. So far I've had only 3 bowls of Captain Black white label, smoked in a cheap medico that's no where near broken-in status. Anyways, i'm not really sure if i'm even getting a taste when I do puff/sip on the pipe, for I certainly do not inhale. Is it something to which I need to get acclimated? Maybe i'm smoking wrong, but I do try to keep the smoke in my mouth just a little before I exhale, depending on the puffing style. I also haven't experienced any tongue bite, but I do notice my pipe's bowl sometimes radiates a fierce heat. Could it be the brand? I'd like to think i'm just not used to pipe smoking yet, for i've never smoked anything; my only tobacco experience being a few years of smokeless tobacco use. Anyways, do you all have any thoughts? Or is it all just inexperience?

unclearthur

Lifer
Mar 9, 2010
If the bowl is getting extremely hot you are puffing too hard. A likely cause is that you are packing the tobacco too tightly or it is too moist. Most likely the first. The flavor should be there if all is right. Practice is about the best way to become familiar with proper technique. There are some tutorials available here and other places on line that should help a lot.

shotokun16

Starting to Get Obsessed
Apr 15, 2010