PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

Ajsnow93

Might Stick Around
Mar 16, 2021
Larisa, Thessaly, Greece
I think this might not be the perfect place to post this thread, but I want it more of a buyer's advice. I'm thinking of buying some Peterson tobacco specifically Nightcap, Sherlock Holmes, Early Morning Pipe and My mixture 965. I want some insights on these and also, if you think I should skip any of them in favour of something else?

tobefrank

Lifer
Jun 22, 2015
Australia
Nightcap, Early Morning Pipe and My mixture 965 are all English blends that contain Latakia. If you wanted some more variety of flavours your could add Flake, Dark Flake and Deluxe Navy Rolls to your list for some Virginia blends. These can burn a bit hotter if you are just starting off and need to be smoked slowly to prevent tongue bite.

HawkeyeLinus

Lifer
Oct 16, 2020
Iowa
I’m a rookie, but enjoyed Wilke 515 - Rathbone’s blend - in my Peterson Rathbone as my first official pipe smoke. Seemed to be a little more recommended than the “Sherlock” and a no brainer for the event. But never tried the other.

Reactions: tobefrank

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Your prospects are fine and would provide a nice tour through Peterson former Dunhill blends. Your could take six months or more slowly savoring these. Taking your time is important. If you just dive into many blends, you may not "learn" any of them well enough to enjoy or appreciate them. I also like the idea of buying a variety of genres in bulk in one ounce baggies. But again, take it slow, very slow. Anything you don't like seal in a jar and try it in a year or so. Slow. Slow.

judcole

Lifer
Sep 14, 2011
Detroit
Sherlock Holmes is an old friend. It's a Peterson blend, not a relabeled Dunhill Any topping is very mild.
Personally, you good folks can have all the EMP, 965, and Nightcap you want - none of them are my cuppa. If I am well-stocked with Old Dublin and Standard, I am a happy camper. puffy

Reactions: elvishrunes