PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jan 28, 2018
Sarasota, FL
The message I got said their security certificate had expired. Whatever the case may be, I decided not to go there. Hope they get it sorted out.

That's it, security certificate. It's the difference between the URL starting with http vs https. There's no e-commerce there, I don't see an issue. The site admin just needs to update their certificate with whoever holds the domain.

--dante--

Lifer
Jun 11, 2020
Pittsburgh, PA USA
I'm a sysadmin for a university, and maintain a number of secure web servers -- that's an expired ssl certificate. Sloppy to allow that to happen, but it basically means the site can no longer be verified as the site it says it is, and the connection to it is unencrypted. You wouldn't want to proceed to an e-commerce site with that warning, but if it's just a forum or something, I wouldn't worry about it if you visit the site as a non-member user. If your browser logs you in automatically, however, be aware that your traffic, including user and password, is being transferred in the clear (unencrypted), and thus could be captured by someone on your network.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Web sites are like small children, requiring continual care and attention, or things go wrong fast. So many sites, even corporate sites, are set up with fanfare and not maintained. I think it is because web tech talent is hired away, and the sites are left to non-techies who don't know the moves. It is amazing what gets left up on sites ... fired employees and outdated information, just as examples.

olkofri

Lifer
Sep 9, 2017
The Arm of Orion