PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Swifturtle

Lurker
Feb 15, 2022
Pennsylvania
I've been smoking pipes for only a couple months. I really enjoy it. I'm having trouble keeping my pipe burning. I can get a pretty good ember but it never lasts long. Do you guys have any tips that might help?

Reactions: JOHN72
Same here. I can keep it going if i chug it but then tongue bite unless it is black cav. Sometimes I get half a bowl but then have to relight often. That is either from improper packing or moisture (ie I didn't dry it enough). I have tried different cadences, sipping etc and even the "breathe"method which I freaking hate. I don't find it relaxin at all if I have to sit there and focus on in out in out through nose, blah blah blah. Plus with the breath method the taste is not as good for me at least. I have resigned myself to a good first half bowl and then relight gingerly. I have improved a lot in the last few months and I will get there. Relighting is OK but I must admit it takes away from the relaxation factor for me but I am intense guy these days. need to retire - peace

Dry the tobacco more.

Dry it still more.

More.

And, yes, more.

Try it now. Your tongue will thank you.
Nope - been there done that - dried it crispy and it tastes like freaking Forest Floor blend to me. Please note I said "for me" everyone is differnet. I'd rather be ginger and get max flavor with a little moisture. I know some like it bone dry but not me. I will admit I am still trying to find the moisture sweet spot and experimenting. The bowl of Folklore I had last night was slightly moist and it was delightful :) THANK YOU @B.Fee

verporchting

Lifer
Dec 30, 2018
There certainly is such a thing as too dry but usually wet tobacco is the main culprit for a pipe that won’t stay lit.

Assuming that’s not the problem it’s down to packing incorrectly, a badly drilled pipe, or something you are doing - I don’t want to say wrong, but … less than right?