PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

stokesdale

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 17, 2020
Stokesdale
Okay, for those less inclined to read a lengthy review of a new blend, here is my review after smoking four bowls of it.

Full disclosure: I primarily smoke straight blends, e.g., Caroline Red Flake, Crumble Kake Red, Burley Flake #2, etc., but I like to change things up sometimes. To do this I would buy some Carter Hall, but that seems to be having some production issues lately; I recently bought some Chatham Manor which some call a 'match blend' to CH (I don't think it is however, although it is close). CM is good, but still pretty heavily topped, so I thought I'd give this one a shot and I am pleasantly surprised. I don't care about tin notes, so I won't comment on that; I also won't comment on it's "grassy" qualities because I grow grass for a living and I have never smoked a tobacco that tastes like grass.

That said, here's my review:

It's pretty damned good. Not overly topped although the vanilla is certainly there but more of a lighter, spicy vanilla rather than the usual, heavier vanilla flavors that most blends use. I can certainly taste the tobacco as well which is a good thing in my book. It's not overpriced and the quality of the product definitely stands out. Would be a great try for other non-aromatic smokers (like me) looking to change things up sometimes...I would highly recommend.

End of review.

jerseysam

Can't Leave
Mar 24, 2019
Liberty Township. OH