PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

undecagon

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 7, 2011
Chicago, IL
Well, I am a percussionist. My focus is Jazz Vibraphone and Drum Kit. I also hold a degree in music education. Although I am applying for graduate school in jazz studies for next year, I needed to work this year between undergrad and grad school. Fate works out that my sister, another music teacher, is about to have a child and is taking the rest of the year for maternity leave....in walks me. And the job pays 210% what I was getting the last few months at the liquor store I worked at after moving home from school. Unfortunately, I'm not a teacher at heart. I'm a musician who likes to perform and share my music. I would like to get my phd after grad school and teach at a university, where the students are also investing their lives in music, a setting I can actually enjoy. But alas, here I sit on lunch for day one at this elementary school, thinking about my time ahead for the next seven months. And I must say, although at an elementary school with such small children, this shouldn't be in place and therefore wouldn't immediately help me, oh I wish I wish that one day as a college professor of percussion I can sit and teach while smoking a pipe!!!!

chopz

Can't Leave
Oct 14, 2011
I started teaching guitar 30 years ago, have a few students at present. I wrote a few books on the modes, primarily for jazz guitarists, or at least guitarists who can already play some. They can be found on one of my websites.
Have no teaching degree, did mostly classical studies. I don't gig much these days. loading out of a place at 3am in january isn't something I miss. Neither is haggling with club owners.

bigvan

Lifer
Mar 22, 2011
OK, I have a lot of stupid questions...
You say you're "not a teacher at heart", yet you want to teach at a university?