PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

TimothyC

Lurker
Jan 10, 2020
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Hello fellows. I am re-entering the pipe smoking arena as I have been away from pipes for about 25 years. I have been smoking cigars for many many years however. Can you recommend a a beginner tobacco for me? One reason I stopped smoking 25 years ago was because my tongue was constantly sore. I loved the flavor and the taste of my pipe tobacco but grew weary of the bite. any suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you in advance. Tim.

verporchting

Lifer
Dec 30, 2018
Carter Hall or Prince Albert for an easy to smoke no bite burley blend. Hints of nuttiness and cocoa.

Something a bit more flavorful but not likely to bite and different from the nutty burley, maybe Edward G Robinson blend. Nice old-timey taste.

Maybe Peterson / Dunhill 965 or Early Morning Pipe if you are interested in English / Balkan blends with Latakia.

All good places to start. Welcome aboard!

briarbuck

Lifer
Nov 24, 2015
Do you smoke a cigar fast or slow?

I was a slow cigar smoker. A noella could last me over an hour easy. I prefer Virginia's because they lend themselves to a slower cadence and slow smoking to pull all the flavors.

Reactions: diamondback

verporchting

Lifer
Dec 30, 2018
Technique is critical - be careful not to hotbox the crap out of the pipe. Take it slow. Dry the tobacco more than you think you should, then dry it some more. Take it slow. Don’t tamp or pack the crap out of it either. Gently, gently.

Also, pay attention to what makes your tongue sore. Is it burnt? You’ll know if you were puffing like a maniac. Or was it a certain tobacco. Some people have a body chemistry that reacts badly to burley or red Virginia leaf, maybe others. If one tobacco hurts you and others don’t it may be that your body doesn’t like that variety and you have to avoid it.

TimothyC

Lurker
Jan 10, 2020