PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

rcstan

Lifer
Mar 7, 2012
Sunset Beach NC
A couple months back I bought a half an ounce of straight Perique to salvage blends that were otherwise unsmokable. Too much of it in blends and it bothers me, especially in English-style mixtures ( such as Nightcap .... some guys swear by it, it just wasn't my cuppa ).

Tonight I decided to try Perique straight as I have never done so before. I loaded a pinch in a cob and fired it right up. It's a bit windy tonight so I gave it a char in the hallway of the apartment building. This is definitely not a baccy for an indoor smoking experience. For a second I thought I had lit my moustache on fire by accident, then the smell evolved to burning chicken feathers. I realized it's the baccy.

I went outside and continued to smoke it. It doesn't really taste like anything, sort of like smoking grass ( well, not THAT grass ). Exhaled through the nose will bring tears to the eyes. The wind will bring smoke to my face and that burns the eyes too. I inhaled a bit and it feels sort of like drinking hot sauce inside a sauna. Definitely not for the faint of heart.

After smoking, it leaves a lingering taste in your mouth and numbs the tip of the tongue. I can only compare the resulting mouth condition to having eaten a couple of tablespoons of Sriracha sauce. The pipe smells sort of funny too, like a wet dog that dried by the fire and burned some of its coat in the process.
I just wanted to share this with you guys.

pstlpkr

Lifer
Dec 14, 2009
Birmingham, AL
Perique smoked in the manner you described would have been discouraged by the membership if you had asked about it prior to your experiment. Your description however; is a valid one... I don't know about the "chicken feathers" thing, but for the most part quite accurate. IMHO

Perique isn't for everybody, and is intended for use as a "spice" tobacco when blended.