PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

andre3s

Lurker
Dec 7, 2020
Chambly, QC
EDIT: Fixed Capitalization in Title (See Rule 9)

Hi friends,
I'm new to pipes. Last Saturday I've visted a local tobacco store (very nice and beautiful btw) and I bought a 50g pouch of a cavendish tobacco. I moved the content of the pouch to a airtight little jar and stored it in a dark place.
I wonder, in the case of buying other varieties of tobacco, if I could keep them in the original pouch and store them in a container together with those Boveda packs the keep the humidity level stable.
Does my idea make sense? I'm asking because I don't want keep many jars as I don't have much space for them.

Thank you so much for any ideas.

Last edited by a moderator:

stokesdale

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 17, 2020
Stokesdale
Hi friends,
I'm new to pipes. Last Saturday I've visted a local tobacco store (very nice and beautiful btw) and I bought a 50g pouch of a cavendish tobacco. I moved the content of the pouch to a airtight little jar and stored it in a dark place.
I wonder, in the case of buying other varieties of tobacco, if I could keep them in the original pouch and store them in a container together with those Boveda packs the keep the humidity level stable.
Does my idea make sense? I'm asking because I don't want keep many jars as I don't have much space for them.

I'm on board with that; I don't cellar in jars myself, just keep them in their tins until I smoke them which is never more than a year anyway. I smoke cigars too, expensive ones (Davidoff) and don't use a traditional humidor. I keep them in their box with Boveda packs, don't know why you can do the same with pipe tobacco.

May 2, 2020
Louisiana
Hi friends,

I have thrown Ziplock bags of small amounts of tobacco that weren’t enough to bother jarring into a Tupperware container with a small Boveda 62 pack. Works fine, at least for a while.

Reactions: andre3s

mau1

Lifer
Jan 5, 2018
Ontario, Canada