PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

laniromee

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jul 31, 2018
Hello.
I have just ordered two estate pipes to add to my ever growing collection of Stanwells. The ones I own are all new stock "designed in Denmark" but made in Italy. I love them and to me, they smoke and look better than any Pete or Sav I've tried.
Well, this time I have a pre-2010 and a Registration era coming my way. I know that common sense dictates that danish made Stanwells, and particularly registration era pipes were much better than the current stock but since I have no first hand experience with them I would like to hear some opinions. What exactly makes them so different? How about Regds, what's so great about them except more precise dating?

sasquatch

Lifer
Jul 16, 2012
I think the older pipes have a historical connection with certain carvers who worked with or got their start with Stanwell, but my experience with those older pipes is that they are not really any better than a modern pipe in terms of materials or construction. They are neat to own and smoke.
Stanwell has always made simple pipes (no stingers, no contraptions) so there's not much to go wrong, really. They were one of the first non-Italian companies to make acrylic stems ubiquitous and that put some people off (and I suppose some people cheered it). They are a good quality factory-made pipe.

seldom

Lifer
Mar 11, 2018
I'm not so sure about era but some of the shapes were designed by hugely respected pipe makers. For example Jess Chonowitsch, Tom Eltang, and Sixten Ivarsson. I find the following web page to be a useful resource: Stanwell Shape Numbers and Designers
Edit: I thoroughly enjoy my "designed in Denmark" Stanwell from Italy. In fact I just smoked it today.

laniromee

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jul 31, 2018
Thank you Sas and Seldom for your input.