PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

jerwynn

Lifer
Dec 7, 2011
Disgraceful, wastrel barbarians!! I noticed the "pipes" looked more like measuring cups though... but still.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
I have an inlaw who is a student at Rutgers. Maybe he can slip past this ritual. Sharp kid, inclined freshman year to major in statistics, which might limit his job competition. I knew a Ph.D. statistician in medical research who could turn aside a whole room full of scientists when he pinned down the data analysis. He was soft spoken but really knew his statistical analysis, and whole rooms full of experts would fall silent and cease and desist once he'd spoken. Interesting to see. He was kind of the absentminded professor; you couldn't get him to say hello if you tripped him in the hall -- his brain was doing its calculations.

coda

Lurker
Jan 25, 2015
I am currently a Graduate student at Rutgers University-Camden. I did not plan on walking, but if I were, and if this tradition was in place at my branch of the University, I would smoke the pipe, and then pocket it...

virginiacob

Can't Leave
Dec 30, 2013
Those clay "pipes" definitely are ceremonial and don't look like you could actually smoke them. I know the professor in the video said that they found a potter that could make them, but they looked like they were still more raw clay than ceramic to me. They may have been fired, but if they were, they must have been fired at a very low temperature. I wouldn't expect that there would be as much dust with a true bisque fired clay pipe which would be more ceramic in nature. I expect that they may have done that on purpose as it could be a little dangerous for the graduates to be smashing actual bisque fired clay pipes as the shards from those could be fairly sharp and make for some dangerous projectiles as they bounced off the cannon.

blueeyedogre

Lifer
Oct 17, 2013