PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

HitchensDog

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jul 22, 2020
Omaha, Nebraska, USA
I enjoy straight Virginia's and realized I'd never tried Capstan Blue before. I picked up a tin about three months or so ago. I immediately opened it, dried out a flake and had a nice smoke. I put the rest in a mason jar after letting it dry a bit, and sort of forgot about it these past three months. I usually only smoke a bowl a day in the morning with my coffee. Sometimes more on the weekends. This morning, I was going over my mason jars, deciding what to smoke with my coffee, and picked up the Capstan. This sounds good, so loaded up a bowl and sat outside for my smoke. The flavor had changed significantly from that first smoke. Not that the first bowl was bad in any way. I distinctly remember the taste of that first bowl, and this was entirely different. I'm not sure how to describe it. I'm not very good at describing the flavors I get from pipe tobacco, but It seemed richer and fuller, less rough around the edges. I've never noticed such a big flavor disparity with a blend before in such a short time. I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed it. Have any of you had similar experiences in such a short time?

Reactions: Jacob74 and kurtbob

mawnansmiff

Lifer
Oct 14, 2015
Sunny Cornwall, UK.
Could be down to the state of your palate on any given day. I've sampled new to me bourbons one day and on another day it can taste quite different. The way I determine the quality (or otherwise) of a bourbon is to try several samples over a period of time.

I'm quite certain that applies to tobacco also.

Just my tuppence worth ?

Regards,

Jay.?

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013