PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

shikano53

Lifer
May 26, 2015
Here are a few pics of a short stem billiard I've been working on and just completed.

1.8oz 51 gr About a Dunhill group 6 size. There are no scratches on the inside of the bowl - just the grain from the inside out. I drill all my pipes for a wide open draw.

A comment about my stamping. I need to purchase one. They are expensive.

Anyway, as per usual: here is a link to the pipe makers forum for their comments etc.
http://pipemakersforum.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=12047
5xJ80tG.jpg

YGGc24E.jpg

MhDWsGD.jpg

v2YXqdp.jpg

hW3rPCm.jpg

CJC0LNZ.jpg

d750

Lurker
Aug 20, 2019
Great work. I'm on my 3rd DIY pipe. I've got a long way to go to get to your level!

shikano53

Lifer
May 26, 2015
d750, I'm just a hobbyist but if you want the real scoop from the professionals who will help you out; go here:

www.pipemakersforum.com
Read, read, read.
These guys will guide you through pretty much anything you want to do/make/attempt with your pipe projects.
Sometimes it may feel like they are cutting your heart out with a rusty spoon but that's how you learn.
Don't worry; it only hurts until the next time. lol(y)

d750

Lurker
Aug 20, 2019
I've been a member there for over a month. Lots of great info there but the guys they call the 'old guard' seem to enjoy being rude and snooty to beginners and new members. They are the pipe making masters, according to them, but I've pretty much had enough of them. I have not encountered that sort of condescension at any other site involved in high end pursuits. Not sure what the deal is. But it only takes a few to ruin a forum/website.

There are some who seem to fit in well after a while, so maybe its just me.

There was a thread there wondering why there is so little activity on the forum. They don't have a clue.

But I think they like it that way anyway. I'll continue to read there but I'm pretty much done with posting.