PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Nov 22, 2020
Hello,
I am relatively new to pipe smoking, I started about 3 months ago. I've tried a handful of different tobaccos but not enough to distinguish between different types of tobacco (virginia, burley, latakia, etc). At my local shop I came upon a tin of Lane Limited's La Gloria Cubana, which I fell in love with. My favorite tobacco prior to this one was Dunhills Early Morning Pipe. Well, La Gloria Cubana is apparently discontinued and I have been searching for a suitable replacement. If I can remember what La Gloria Cubana tasted like, with my limited tobacco vocabulary, I would describe it as bright, golden, earthy, and smoky. I enjoyed it all day, but especially in the mornings. If anyone has tried LGC or something similar, and can recommend me a new tobacco blend, it would be much appreciated. Thank you.

briarbuck

Lifer
Nov 24, 2015
Davidoff Royalty may fit the bill. I am not a latakia guy so take my recommendation with a pinch of salt. I am smoking through an old can Royalty now and like it quite a bit. I get mainly Virginias and Orientals with a hint of Lat.

Reactions: anotherbob
Nov 22, 2020

Looks like a oriental forward balkan, with light Latakia and Perique. Can’t think of something exactly the same, but try the following

1. Arango Balkan Supreme
2. Peterson Nightcap
3. C&D Rajah’s Court
Thanks for the reply.
I have Nightcap, and I thoroughly enjoy it. Maybe it's simply because of marketing, but I consider Nightcap and Early Morning as two sides of the same coin--Nightcap tasting darker and more chocolate-y and EMP tasting brighter, but with similar bases. LGC was my replacement for EMP. I know I like EMP, so I wanted to try comparable blends in case I like something better. I'll certainly look into those recommendations. Thanks!

Briar Baron

Can't Leave
Sep 30, 2016
Sydney