Ready-Rubbed, Flake & Bars - How to Prepare?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

2 Fresh Former Pipes
36 Fresh Tsuge Pipes
6 Fresh Castello Pipes
36 Fresh Estate Pipes
24 Fresh Rossi Pipes

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

Cdtakacs1

Lurker
Feb 29, 2020
HI Folks -

I have a few tins of ready-rubbed, flake and bars (i.e. Plumb Pudding) and I'm just wondering the best way in which to prepare the product to be smoked? I have seem a few other threads where individuals have purchased pyramid grinders to break down the the product while others have just used their hands.

Is there a right or wrong way to do this? I've also seen a few videos (Muttonchip Piper to be exact) where the flake was merely folded and stuffed into the bowl.

Sorry for the silly question, I am a beginner pipe smoker. Thank you!

rushx9

Lifer
Jul 10, 2019
Shelby, NC
Ready rubbed mixtures are just that, ready. Some folks prefer to rub them into dust, but they are usually good to go with a little dry time. Crumble cakes can usually be easily rubbed to your desired consistency by hand, but a grinder makes quick work of them. Flakes are a personal preference. There is a learning curve to getting a good smoke by folding and stuffing, and the benefits are said to be better flavor retention and slower burn, but many prefer to rub them out either a bit (ready rubbed consistency) or fully into ribbons. For me, it varies from flake to flake, depending much on the manufacturer. Some flakes crumble if you look at them wrong, while others are densely pressed and will fight your efforts to break them down. Some dense flakes are better, imho, when cut into cubes or squares, offering the best of both worlds - slow burn and flavor retention with optimal airflow and ease of packing. The best thing to do is pick up a few tins and experiment to see what works best for you.

danimalia

Lifer
Sep 2, 2015
San Francisco Bay Area, USA