PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
K

klause

I’ve been collecting and smoking pipes for just over 35 years, and in that time I managed to amass quite a sizable collection that ranged far and wide, across time, brands and individual carvers. Last year I had a minor epiphany resulting in a purge, to say the least, and I sold the bulk of my collection, a lifetime of acquisition – 400 pipes in all.

I kept some choice pieces and have been happy with my decision, not feeling the need to buy more pipes, only to look and see what’s out there. So, it was with a little surprise and no little joy and delight that I ran across Ron Powell’s pipes.

I remember the first time Ron posted one of his pipes (in about 2015) and how I was quietly taken aback by his skill and aesthetic, and his obvious mastery of his medium. I watched him show his new creations with growing appreciation, but was never in a position to acquire one, mainly because they sold as soon as he posted them – one in particular, The PitBull, I lamented long and hard over. It was a magnificent piece. I was biding my time, waiting for the right pipe, the right moment. Then, out of the blue, Ron stopped carving. I had missed my chance and I was bitterly disappointed.

But, as I said, Ron is back carving, and better than ever – it seems the hiatus has worked wonders for his creativity, skill and his aesthetic. So, I have been watching and waiting. Then last month Ron posted a set of Nosewarmer Bulldogs on his site, my eye was drawn to one in particular, and I did not hesitate, I bought it immediately.

Ron and I exchanged a few emails and before I knew it the pipe was in the post. Then the long wait – it has taken a month to get here due to the issues currently gripping the world, finally arriving yesterday.