Questions on Common Plaster and Pipe Mud.

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Pep

Lurker
Jun 7, 2021
Sarawak, Borneo
EDIT: Fixed Capitalization in Title (See Rule 9)

Good afternoon,

I'm relatively new to pipe smoking and have being having troubles with leftovers stuck in the belly bottom of my cobs.
I was thinking of figuring out how to "fix" the problem by googling "corn cob modification" and came across many opinions and ideas from the internet from tossing the cob out and buy a new one to pipe mudding the cobs.

Intrigue with the idea of pipe mudding and having no cigar ash available,
Also coming across canerodpipe's idea of Pipe Mortar.
In which consisted of Plaster of Paris, Activated Charcoal, Table Salt and Water.
I went to the Hardware store and got me some plaster, some activated charcoal from the pharmacies, among other things.

Due to Covid, a lot of art and craft stores are close and I am unable to get me a proper bag of Plaster of Paris,
and the hardware store lady who sold me the plaster doesn't knew the differences between common plaster and PoP.
It worries me a lot.

So I follow canerodpipe's recipe with common plaster, leaving it to cure for 5 days
while I coat the exterior of the cobs with wood fillers and a coat of water-based vanish.
I had "modified" 2 of my cobs with this solution Pipe Mortar but with common Plaster,
and another cob with cigar ash with a cigar I have got from the same tobacconist a day after just for the sake of getting the pipe mud.

Alas, trying the 2 pipes for the first time, I find my tongue feels like it was being coated,
coated by something, unlike tongue bite, it feels like"something is not right".
Compared to the cob that just has a simple cigar ash + water pipe mud which smoke wonderfully and doesn't coat my tongue just like how a normal pipes should.

My main questions are these.
Are common plaster save to use as pipe mud?
Will it be toxic?

Thank you