PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

2ixPipes

Lurker
Sep 15, 2022
Hello all,

I'm relatively new to pipe smoking (~1 year into it), and I've recently learned about propylene glycol being used in the majority of tobaccos produced. I'm not particular interested in debating whether it's harmless or not, I've grown weary of trusting experts at the FDA and other agencies in these matters, anyway, that's another discussion.

My question is PG used even in straight virginia type tobaccos (i.e. not aromatics, English, etc.). For example some tobaccos I've enjoyed recently are: Peter Stokkebye Luxury Navy, Orlik's Golden Slice, Sutliff 507C, Peterson Irish Flake, Solani Virginia Flake, etc. These tend to dry out relatively fast once you rub them out. I was wondering if I shouldn't be concerned with PG used in these types of tobacco, versus the more common aromatic ones?

Would love to know for peace of mind, if so maybe start looking into PG free flakes.

Thanks in advance!

judcole

Lifer
Sep 14, 2011
Detroit
My understanding is that PG is used in most of the "lower-end" tobaccos - especially aros - which make up the vast majority of what is sold - blends like Borkum Riff, Captain Black, and so on. I would bet that the blends you mentioned in the original post have very little or none.

Dublin Old Man

Might Stick Around
Aug 22, 2020
Dublin, Ohio
was wondering if I shouldn't be concerned with PG
What kind of concern? Health, smoking quality, other?

I think that most pipe tobacco has some PG in it. Some brands use too much in my opinion. When there is excessive PG, I find that the tobacco will not dry, is difficult to light, does not stay lit, produces excess moisture in the pipe, and causes tongue bite.

I do not buy brands that contain excess PG. I could name a few that some would consider top brands. Some are high quality tobacco but they ruin it with the PG. You will find out with experience.

Aug 20, 2022