SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

May 25, 2021
Welcome to the forum. I reworded the title, as "piping" isn't used here, and to help keep the focus on your question, not terminology! Also capitalized a key word.

Greeting, new piper here. I've been piping non-aromatic for 6 months now, pick up this hobby to lessen my cigarette smoke per day (I'm a heavy smoker). So far so good because I watched a lot of MuttnchopPiper's video for the basics, but I seems to have trouble with virginia tobacco in general. Problem including:

1/ The damn thing won't stay lit, especially when you get to 3/4 of the bowl then it stay lit for like 5 second and then die.
2/ Its produce next to zero smoke
3/ Sometimes it kind of "clog" the pipe, like when you get to half bowl then your draw become very heavy

I did some research and basically try to fix my problem in multiple way but it just didn't work, including

1/ Drying my virgnia tobacco (waiting from 30 min to 5 hours, even put in in microwave)
2/ Shredding and cutting my tobacco extremely fine
3/ Smoke slowly (definitely much slower compare to other blends)
4/ Pack lighter

I'm using pipes from Peterson, Savinelli and Chacom, results are the same. Tobacco I'm having trouble with is: Peterson Flake, Solani yellow cap 633.

Am I missing something? Very appreciate the help, gents.

Last edited by a moderator:
I could probably suggest doing more of what you already know to do, but I'm not going to waste your time. You smoke cigarettes which already has a ton of Virginias in it, and you are inhaling them, which is overloading your palate with that flavor that you are trying to get at.
Maybe move to English blends. I think that will please your palate better.