PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

ScruffyDan

Lurker
Sep 6, 2020
Vancouver, Canada
ofdan.ca
EDIT: Fixed Capitalization in Title (See Rule 9)

I am new to pipe smoking, and recently purchased what I consider to be an expensive pipe, a Savenelli 320 Noce. I have only smoked it twice and notice some irregularities inside the bowl see the picture bellow:

IMG_5249.jpeg

There are two depressions in the side of the bowl, I didn't notice them when the pipe was unsmoked (I may not have inspected the bowl thoroughly enough in my hast to break in this new pipe). Is this something to be concerned about? I don't really care about how it looks, and I suspect that int time these depressions will be filled in with cake, but you prefer some advice some more experienced pipe smokers.

Thanks

Jacob74

Lifer
Dec 22, 2019
Killeen, TX
Well, it's hard to get a feel for the depth of those depressions without a caliper reading...but I think your instinct of them being insignificant blemishes that won't affect your pipe is correct. I suppose if you were to smoke really hot all the time, those could be more vulnerable to burn through, but only by virtue of having slightly thinner walls at those points. All the more reason to get some cake on there.

unadoptedlamp

Part of the Furniture Now
Mar 19, 2014
If those are above the shank, maybe you could feel with your finger if it is getting warmer on that very spot.

I would agree with the others that you probably don't have anything to worry about. If it is a big concern, try smoking with a little less force while some more cake builds up on that area to keep the temperature down.

Nice pipe.

eugenepark

Starting to Get Obsessed
Dec 13, 2018
Oklahoma
If the pipe smokes great overall, you'll forget those are there after enough time passes :)