PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

keithnelmr

Lurker
Feb 19, 2022
I am relatively new to Airstreaming, full timing (and wintering) now for 5 months. However, I am not new to outdoor cooking. Before I owned a 29' chunk of aluminum, I owned this 29" cast aluminum cooker. Prolific in the 1950s, the Portable Kitchen has recently been revived. A while back, I saw one in a store and was reminded of the one my neighbors owned when I was growing up. One day, as I drove my hulk-of-rust (steel cooker #3) to the dump, it dawned on me that I needed the Portable Kitchen. Three Amazon clicks later . . . .

The PK is Wally B. inspired in every way. Simplicity, efficiency, shape, weight, and built to last (My grandchildren will be fighting over this one). By reflecting 93% of heat, cast aluminum cooks beautifully (lump charcoal only please!!!) and it slips into a trash bag for easy, clean travel onboard my AS.

Now I own two. One is in my backyard on the Carolina Coast thumbing its nose at the prevailing salted winds. The other is out in the hither-yonder, nestled beside my '72 Ambassador. They complement each other in every way.

keithnelmr

Lurker
Feb 19, 2022
I am relatively new to Airstreaming, full timing (and wintering) now for 5 months. However, I am not new to outdoor cooking. Before I owned a 29' chunk of aluminum, I owned this 29" cast aluminum cooker. Prolific in the 1950s, the Portable Kitchen has recently been revived. A while back, I saw one in a store and was reminded of the one my neighbors owned when I was growing up. One day, as I drove my hulk-of-rust (steel cooker #3) to the dump, it dawned on me that I needed the Portable Kitchen. Three Amazon clicks later . . . .