Please Help. Tobacco Mixture Tastes Like Rotten Eggs.

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Law

Starting to Get Obsessed
Oct 1, 2020
Saudi Arabia
EDIT: Fixed Capitalization in Title (See Rule 9)

Hello!

I’m new to pipe smoking and I love it. I have never smoked previously, nor cigarettes or regular cigars (only cigarillos a couple of times) so i have little to no experience in smoking in general.

Now to the problem. I have bought a Elizabethan mixture and Flake tobacco from a store that sold the dunhill‘s version which aged for about 4 years, I thought of myself quite lucky. As I started smoking the Elizabethan mixture, I grew liking it very much. I found the Perique to be quite tasty with a fresh lemonade and mint drink. I grew fond off it way more than my Dunhill flake tobacco, and started smoking the Elizabethan Mixture when I'm sitting and contemplating the flavors, and trying to be a better Tobacco connoisseur. All of a sudden, I remember I was halfway into the bowl, and I taste, the best way I can describe it, as a rotten egg taste. I thought for a second I tasted some ashes or something, but it kept happening. I couldn’t believe it so I had to quit the smoke, and thought that my pipe was bad or something. long and behold, I bought a new Savinelli smooth 601 pocket pipe and tried the mixture and see if it kept happening. Unfortunately, it did.

Can someone please help me with this problem?

Last edited by a moderator:
I can sometimes taste a tad ammonia, which would be a sign that the tobacco hadn't been cured very well. But, it would be hard to confuse ammonia for rotten eggs. But, if it has the Dunhill name on the tin, it should have aged out a tad by now.
I'm not sure what to say about "sulfur content of the tobacco." I will definitely keep you in mind if I find some sulfur in mine. puffy

workman

Lifer
Jan 5, 2018
The Faroe Islands