PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Akoni808

Part of the Furniture Now
Mar 17, 2022
O’ahu, Hawai’i
Aloha all,

I’ve been smoking pipes for a few months now and I seem to go through pipe cleaners like crazy. I smoke a few bowls everyday, and will run three pipe cleaners through my pipe after every bowl. I’m not complaining as pipe cleaners are super cheap, but is this normal?

Also on a side note, I’ve just been using BJ Long pipe cleaners. Does anyone have any brand recommendations?

Reactions: Latakia Dave

OzPiper

Lifer
Nov 30, 2020
Sydney, Australia
As many as it takes !

I have “normal” ones, bristle ones, thin ones, tapered ones and even coloured “craft” ones for my pipes with small bone tenons. I also have long ones for churchwardens, even though I don’t have one,

A dirty pipe results in a less than satisfactory smoke, so DON’T stint.

blackpowderpiper

Dec 19, 2018
Middle Tennessee
Yep, whatever it takes. I can't stand gurgling, so I often will run a cleaner through the pipe mid smoke as needed. Usually use one after the smoke, both ends, to swab out the stem. It makes me wonder how folks cleaned their pipes many years ago before the advent of pipe cleaners? For that matter, how long have pipe cleaners been around?

Hillcrest

Lifer
Dec 3, 2021
Bagshot Row, Hobbiton
Yep, whatever it takes. I can't stand gurgling, so I often will run a cleaner through the pipe mid smoke as needed. Usually use one after the smoke, both ends, to swab out the stem. It makes me wonder how folks cleaned their pipes many years ago before the advent of pipe cleaners? For that matter, how long have pipe cleaners been around?
Early 1900's per reborn pipes : history of pipe cleaners – rebornpipes - https://rebornpipes.com/tag/history-of-pipe-cleaners/

dunnyboy

Lifer
Jul 6, 2018
New York