PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

NomadOrb

(Nomadorb)
Feb 20, 2020
SoCal
Allow me to start off by saying I am just a hobbyist and you shouldn't pay my opinion too much attention beyond the ramblings of a tobacco obsessed man. I also haven't written any reviews before this, so please bear with me.

Now that we got that out of the way, let's get into the meat of this thing. Virginias and Dark Fired Kentucky to me are a marriage made in heaven, right up there with Virginias and Orientals. The malty, spicy, and floral flavors are some of the most satisfying that can be found in the world of pipe tobacco.

I've been smoking Orlik Dark Strong Kentucky (DSK) and PH Dark Strong Flake (DSF) back to back for months comparing them to one another and appreciating the nuances that each provides in their own way. Although, if I'm honest, my mind was made up a week into it and didn't change. Is one better than the other? I think that decision is left to you.

Orlik DSK - Virginia/Kentucky with a topping of Licorice and Molasses. It comes in a nice, uniform flake with a strip of Virginias right down the center flanked by Kentucky on both sides. This one comes a little moist. My favorite way to prepare it is to rub out two flakes and let them dry for 5 minutes. I live in a dry climate, so take that into account. Depending on how you pack this one, you will get differently behaving and tasting bowls. My preference is to meld as much of the flavors as I can.

NOTE - Brown sugar, licorice, a little hay, and bbq tang.

NIC HIT - Mild-Med