PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

kola

Lifer
Apr 1, 2014
Colorado Rockies, Cripple Creek region
I'm new to using PayPal.
I've recently purchased a few things and the people (sellers) asked me to pay as "friends" so they would not get charged anything extra. I did that on two occasions and was charged an additional $1.30 per transaction. i didn't know why I was charged the extra fee and what it was for. i thought maybe the first time was a one time fee but when it happened the second time I wondered whats up.
I contacted PayPal and they informed that if I had paid without clicking on the "friend" selection I would be charged nothing but what the seller was asking for. In turn, the seller would be charged 30 cents.
Is this correct? And if so, do sellers know this ? Yet still ask for the payment as "Personal' to avoid losing 30 cents? I lose $1.30 (or $1.20).

ben88

Lifer
Jun 5, 2015
Quebec
@kola
F&F PP is free, but there are 2 conditions:

1) Using PP balance.

2) Transfer has to be within you country and in the same currency.

sasquatch

Lifer
Jul 16, 2012
Most important: if you buy merchandise and pay "friends and family" you have NO recourse through paypal if the seller screws you in any way. If you select that you are purchasing something, you are protected as a buyer and paypal will forcibly refund if there's a problem. So, some sellers like FnF because it is more money in their pocket, but it also absolves them of any responsibility.

woodsroad

Lifer
Oct 10, 2013
SE PA USA
What Sasquatch said. Only use Friends and Family if the seller truly is a friend or family. Even then, caveat emptor.

kola

Lifer
Apr 1, 2014
Colorado Rockies, Cripple Creek region
I didnt know by doing the F&F that I would be charged $1.30. I guess it ain't a big deal if it truely is "friends or family", but it really wasnt "friends or family"...nor was it a vendor. And yeah it things go sour and I do F&F, I just effed' myself, lol, sotospeak.