PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

thebigragu

Can't Leave
Aug 31, 2019
Needs of the Army
I stumbled upon this in a different site but thought it was really good, and wanted to share

Original content by Spillproof, copied from old PSF with permission.

I'm going to try and come at this from a new angle, given that you can break in a pipe with any tobacco.

If you are breaking in your first pipe you are also just leaning how to smoke a pipe.
The things you do wrong when learning are hard on a pipe:
Smoking too hot and burning the briar
Smoking too wet - can't keep it lit.
Scorching the rim with sloppy lighting.
Chewing on the stem like a dog with a bone.
Dropping the pipe...

So mostly, don't do those things ;-)

The reason why OTC blends like Carter Hall and PA are often recommended is because they are Particularly Easy blends to pack and smoke. I generally break pipes in with Virginias but I've been smoking a pipe for a couple decades and sorta know what I'm doing. I don't labor over how to pack or light or relight anymore.

To make your break in process easier on you and the pipe, use a tobacco you already "know" and are able to keep lit and relatively "cool" (on the cooler side of burning that is).

How hot is too hot?
If you think your pipe may be getting too warm try the baby-bottle test on the inside of your wrist. If it feels much warmer than your skin, let the pipe rest for a bit and resume once it's cooled down.

How not to scorch your rim?
Smoke inside.
Never use a torch lighter.
Do not hover over the briar with flame; drop the flame toward the tobacco only while puffing, and remove the flame between puffs. You are only trying to light the top of the bowl - not immolate the whole thing at once.

How to get even cake?