PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

rmorrison

Lurker
Mar 22, 2016
Just after a bit of information on the subject as I'm new to pipe making, I managed to get hold of a piece of 700(ish) year old oak heart wood (tough as steel at this point). Would anyone have any advice on the best ways to reduce the risk of cracking/ burning etc. for when it's finished?

rmorrison

Lurker
Mar 22, 2016
Sorry for not being clear, I meant when I've put everything together but not "finished it" as such and certainly not smoked it yet.

zack24

Lifer
May 11, 2013
I think I heard one time that oak was toxic and not recommended for pipe making.
Nope- lots of nasty woods out there like rosewood and other tropicals, but oak is fine... Morta is nothing more than oak that's been buried under swampy crap for a few thousand years...
If you're going to try it, just smoke it very gently for the first few times to minimize cracking....or even better-give Steve Norse at Vermont Freehand a call and get a predrilled briar kit- it will be drilled right and you'll have a much better chance of ending up with a smokeable pipe after you've spent hours hacking away at it. Once you've finished that, then move onto the nasty, gnarly hunk of oak...:)

jerwynn

Lifer
Dec 7, 2011
I had a Mr. Brog pipe made out of white oak... GREAT dandy little pipe and a fun smoke! Thoroughly enjoyed it and the variety of it. About a year ago, it went to the same place mateless socks go from the washer/drier... MUCH to my regret. There is a standing APB regarding its rescue in our house and I hope to some day get it back. Also, seasoned red oak is a favorite of mine for the fireplace... have had some pipe-dreaming about making a smoking pipe out of that... just to get that essence in the smoke. (Never noticed ANY "essence" different from briar with the Brog white oak btw.)